Revisits

Hello blog! I haven’t seen you for the entirety of the first month of summer. So let me recap what happened to me this summer.

Things changed enormously. My  internship at an insanely cool start-up didn’t work out. My parents, as I discovered, developed a borderline paranoia about my health because of my cringe-inducing eating habits. Summer school has proven to be not only too expensive but also a drain on my time. This means that after a long time I am literally sitting at home with figuratively nothing to do.

Home is currently Delaware, a painfully stark contrast to the noise and bustle of the Big Apple. So besides shopping and eating, and spending hours and hours on Facebook wondering why everyone else was having the time of their life either in the sun or at a fancy job, you would think that I had become a potato altogether.

Surprisingly not.

Things I've been doing for the summer: The Cloisters, The Barnes Foundation, The Franklin Institute, Nigerian Food, My mother's harmonium, a sari that I was gifted and my currency collection

Things I’ve been doing for the summer: The Cloisters, The Barnes Foundation, The Franklin Institute, Nigerian Food, My mother’s harmonium, a sari that I was gifted and my currency collection

I am finally reunited with my family after nearly two years. I completed one of my hardest research projects and received an A. I visited some fancy museums in Philadelphia. I even squeezed in a visit to New York, where I met with my best friend whom I have known for a decade. I have felt satisfied with my life and now that my parents are strictly monitoring my intake of food, I feel less tired and more capable of accomplishing things. Would this perhaps be good enough for a holiday?

The time and space have given me avenues to discover other interests as well. My need for exploring and creating graphics has led me on to discover the world of Processing.js and other ways to socially communicate my interest. My studies into Artificial Intelligence and Natural Language Processing are teaching me concepts that are forcing me to think differently. I’ve even signed up for two online courses in writing and Machine Learning.

More importantly, I’ve realized that contemplating myself in terms of my still-growing introspection is like staring into a mirror when I could get out and about into the world and finally make my own game , and programming/design dreams happen.

Share your opinion

